How to delete your Discord account

Discord is a great platform to connect with other like-minded people, but there are always some cases where it is more of a negative experience. Maybe you feel strongly about something and someone else tries to make you small, or you get into a heated argument with another online group. Maybe you are confused with all the controls and just don’t want to use the platform anymore. Whatever your case, deleting your Discord account is just a few clicks away. Here’s how.

Read more: How to change your username or nickname in Discord

Quick answer

To delete your Discord account, open Discord and go User settings > My account. Scroll down and select Delete account. If you want to disable your account, which means you can restore it at a later date, you can do so from this page.


Go to the main section

How to delete a Discord Account (Desktop)

Click Gear Shape User settings Button at the bottom of the interface.

Click Gear User Settings

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Upstairs My account Scroll all the way to tabs, labeled sections Account removal. Click Delete account Button

Delete account button position

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In Delete account In the pop-up confirmation box, type your password Password Field then, when ready, click purple Delete account Button to delete your Discord account.

Enter the password and delete the account

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

How to delete a Discord Account (Android and iOS)

Open Discord on your mobile device, then tap your profile picture in the toolbar below. It will take you User settings.

Delete an account on mobile

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In user settings, tap 7 My account. Scroll all the way to the next page, then press Delete account.

Discord Stock Photo 11

Edgar Cervantes / Android Authority

After pressing Delete account, The process usually takes two weeks or 14 days to complete. That said, if your Disclosure Activity is widespread, it may take longer, with some people reporting that it took them 30 or more days to finish deleting their accounts.

How to “Disable” your Discord account?

If you want to take a break from Discord but do not want to delete your account completely, you can disable it. If you disable your account, you will not receive any notifications or messages on the platform. However, when searched, you can still be found. People can still send you friend requests, and you’ll see them when you reactivate (or “recover”) your account.

How to deactivate your Discord account (Desktop)

Click Gear Shape User settings Button at the bottom of the interface.

Click Gear User Settings

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

Upstairs My account Scroll all the way to tabs, labeled sections Account removal. Click Deactivate account Button

Disable your Discord account on the desktop

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In the following confirmation pop-up, enter your password Password In the case, then click Purple Deactivate account Button

Enter the password to deactivate the account

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

How to deactivate your Discord account (Android and iOS)

Open Discord on your mobile device and tap your profile picture in the toolbar below. It will take you User settings.

Disabling a Discord Account on Mobile

Curtis Joe / Android Authority

In user settings, tap 7 My account. Scroll all the way to the next page, then press Delete account.


Read more: How to cancel Discord Nitro

FAQs

Can You Recover a Disabled Discord Account?

Yes. To recover your disabled Discord account, simply go to the Discord login page and enter your account credentials – this is your email address and password. Click Restore account. Follow the next steps described by Discord and you will regain access to your account.

Can I delete a disabled discord account?

Not out of it. You will need to recover your inactive account, then delete it properly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.